New Year Celebrations 2021 – How New Year is Celebrate Different Religions of India

The world runs on the Gregorian calendar following the concept of 365 days and 12 months, completing its annual cycle every 1st January. Once every four years, the Gregorian calendar adds one more day to the year and we call the leap year.

New Year Celebrations 2021

All of us are familiar with this. But Gregorian Calendar is not the only calendar that came into existence in mankind. Calendars fall into four types –Solar, Lunar, Lunisolar, and Seasonal. Every calendar teaches us the belief system they are based on.

Over time, many countries developed their own calendars as per their culture and traditions. India being a diverse land with a variety of people, holds multiple calendars varying from one culture to another.

Some religions follow Solar Calendar and some follow Lunar Calendar celebrating the Indian New Year in a unique way.

Here’s a list of Indian New Year celebrated across the nation on different days-

1. Vikram Samvat – Hindu New Year
2. Hijri – Muslim New Year
3. Baisakhi – Punjabi New Year
4. Bastu Varas – Gujaratis New Year
5. Ugadi – Telugu New Year
6. Gudi Padwa – Marathi New Year
7. Puthandu – Tamil New Year
8. Pohela Boishakh – Bengali New Year
9. Losoong – Sikkimese New Year
10. Pana Sankranti – Odissi New Year

#1 Vikram Samvat – Hindu New Year

Vikram Samvat - Hindu New Year

Hindu New Year or Vikram Samvat as per Hindu Panchang (that follows Lunar Calendar) starts with the month of Chaitra which usually falls between months of March and April. According to the Brahma Purana, the New Year marks the day when Lord Brahma recreated the entire world after the previous Pralaya or Great Deluge. On this day, the sun is found to be at the point just above the intersection of the equator and the meridians. This day also marks the beginning of new harvest.
Hindu New Year Date – Monday, 12th April 2021

#2 Hijri – Muslim New Year

Hijri - Muslim New Year

Marking the beginning of Muslim era, Hijri is the Islamic New Year and the second holiest month after Ramadan. The Hijri calendar was officially created during the reign of Khalifa Umar ibn al-Khattab. The First month of Hijri Calendar is called Muharram and is calculated as per lunar cycle. This day is celebrated in a peaceful manner by visiting the mosque and offering prayers to Allah.

#3 Baisakhi – Punjabi New Year

Baisakhi - Punjabi New Year

Baisakhi is the harvest festival and celebrated with zest among the Sikh community. On this day, the tenth Guru of Sikhism – Guru Gobind Singh laid the foundation stone of Panth Khalsa in the year 1699. A great feast is prepared and people gather to socialize and share festive foods. They also visit Gurdwaras and participate in Langar.
Punjabi New Year Date – Wednesday, 14 April 2021

#4 Bastu Varas – Gujaratis New Year

Bastu Varas - Gujaratis New Year

The harvest season in Gujarat embarking the new beginning, people of Gujarat celebrate the new year on the next day of Diwali. Gujaratis wish “Nutan Varsha Abhinandan” or “Happy New Year” to their dear ones. People decorate their houses and visit the temple wearing new clothes.
Gujarati New Year Date – Friday, 5 November

Why Gujaratis celebrate the new year after Diwali?

Gujaratis new year coincides with Govardhan Puja. As per Hindu Panchang, Vikram Samvat falls in Kartik month (October/November) in Gujarat. It is the time of Diwali in India. As per mythological tails, on this day Lord Krishna defeated Indra by lifting Govardhan mountain on his little finger. On this day people worship the Govardhan by making a small hillock, usually of cow dung, idolizing Govardhan and worship it. Book GSRTC buses here

#5 Ugadi – Telugu New Year

Ugadi – Telugu New Year

The name of Telugu New Year – Ugadi or Yugadi is derived from Sanskrit where ‘Yuga’ stands for ‘age’ and ‘Adi’ stands for ‘beginning’ – combined, the literal meaning of Yugadi is beginning of new age. It is celebrated on the first day of the waxing phase of the moon in the month of Chaitra and usually falls in March or April month. The festival is celebrated in the states of Karnataka and Andhra Pradesh. The new year is celebrated with people starting their day with an oil bath and visiting the temple. A special dish called Puran Poli is also prepared along with a grand feast.
Telugu New Year Date – Tuesday, 13 March 2021

#6 Gudi Padwa – Marathi New Year

Gudi Padwa – Marathi New Year

Gudi Padwa is celebrated as Hindu New Year in the state of Maharashtra on the day of Chaitra Shukla Paksha Pratipada. On this day Marathis and Konkanis hang a ‘Gudi’ on the right side of the main entrance of the door with a bamboo stick. Maharashtrians consider it as a symbol of the victory of Chhatrapati Shivaji. People believe that it also wards off evil and brings good luck in the household.
Marathi New Year Date – Tuesday, 13 April 2021

#7 Puthandu – Tamil New Year

Puthandu – Tamil New Year

People of Tamil Nadu celebrate Puthandu at the beginning of the Chaitra month wishing each other “Putthandu Vazhtthukkal” or “Happy New Year”. In the temple city of the state – Madurai, the day is celebrated in the Meenakshi Temple. An exhibition is also organized named “Chitthirai Porutkaatchi”. The homes are decorated with flowers and rangolis and a great feast including “Mangai Pachadi” is prepared.
Tamil New Year Date – Wednesday, 14 April 2021. Book bus tickets from Hyderabad to Madurai here.

#8 Pohela Boishakh – Bengali New Year

Pohela Boishakh – Bengali New Year

Celebrated with pomp and show in West Bengal, Pohelo Boishakh is observed in mid of April month. The festival is not limited to Bengal, rather Bengalese living in Tripura and Assam also celebrate this day with great enthusiasm. Crossing the borders, this day has been observed as Bangladeshi New Year and a National Holiday has also been assigned to it.
Bengal New Year Date – Thursday, 15 April 2021

#9 Losoong – Sikkimese New Year

Losoong – Sikkimese New Year

Also known as ‘Sonam Losar’, Lasoong is the farmer’s New Year in Sikkim State. It is the most ancient festival of Sikkim and celebrated in the month of December and marks the end of harvesting season. Based on the Tibetan Lunar Calendar, the festival is celebrated with great excitement. Thousands of tourists from across the globe visit the state every year to witness traditional folk dance, religious rituals and ceremonies. Click here to check bus routes to Sikkim.

#10 Pana Sankranti – Odisha New Year

ana Sankranti – Odissi New Year

The Oriya month of Mesha starts with Pana Sankranti and is considered auspicious in Odisha. On this day, people fill a pot with Pana or Sweet Drink and make a tiny hole in the bottom of the pot. The mixture of horse gram, banana, and Curd is offered to Tulsi plant at home and the same is later consumed as Prasad. People also take bath in the sacred river and enjoy the Mela. The tribals of Odissa perform a ritual called Danda Nacha which goes on for the period of 13 days
Odissi New Year Date – Wednesday, 14 April 2021

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *